Sled

My latest upgrades to the snowgo are complete. I recently purchased some odds and ends from Kotzebue.

 

First and most important are gauntlets or hand guards for those colder days.

IMG_7626
toasty hands

I may end up getting a second set for the passenger handles but this will do for now.IMG_7625

IMG_7625.JPG
hand warmers rolled up and frosty

IMG_7624

Second I bought a hitch for my snowgo. It took me about a week to get around to installing it, mostly because I was a little worried it would be to technical as I have 0 mechanical abilities. But in about an hour (most of which was spent trying to track down the right socket wrench) I had done it. And it was not as hard as I had feared so, win!

The hitch swivels, which everyone has told me is bad. The general opinion is that I should weld it so that it doesn’t move to prevent wear and increase strength. Welding is a little out of my purview and I don’t have the equipment, but I might need to take it up if only to stop the incessant rattling the thing makes any time the machine is running!

Now originally I had planned to borrow a sled in the event I ended up needing one. Most of the time I would need one would be for school related matters; dropping people off at the airport, or chaperoning some event that we were driving to so I could borrow the school sleds. But there are other things; hunting, longer trips, helping someone else, which could necessitate me having my own or borrowing one. Another teacher recently bought one from anchorage which cost just over $1000 before shipping. At that price I was very torn. Yes they were a good investment and would probably have a longer life and lower decline in value than the snowgo it is attached to, but it’s also lots of money for something I would not use that often.

IMG_7628
Side strings, present here but missing further up

As I was pondering this shortly after receiving my hitch, our maintenance man happened to mentioned that his dad just so happened to be selling a sled and the price mentioned was only $500 which I thought was much preferable. He brought it by for me to look at. It was only 10 feet instead of 16-20 like many of the sleds but that was fine for my occasional use not to mention the lower towing capabilities of my snowgo. It was wood which was the big draw back in my principals opinion.
Wood sleds do not have the longevity that plastic sleds do

IMG_7627
short runners

but I like the look of them better and I know that with a little maintenance to the rope that holds it together and the runners they can last years and years. The only two down sides in my opinion was that it was missing side strings, but that was something I could fix as it did not hold the sled together, they just hold stuff in like netting. The other down side was that the runners did not extend back very far which would make it very difficult for anyone to ride musher style on the back. That is probably ok though. It would be a deal breaker if I were a musher but since I ride on the snowgo there is no reason anyone should have to ride on the runners.

 

 

So I offered $450 Friday and picked it up Monday after installing my hitch. Now all that remains is to fix the side ropes, load up and go!

IMG_7666

One thought on “Sled

Leave a Reply

